Technical Committees

Standing and ad hoc Technical Committees conduct specified functions of Network activity, advise the Steering Committee on certain Network policies and procedures, and provide technical expertise to protocol design.  Committee members generally consist of a maximum of nine members who are not associated with the DCC or NIH and are appointed by the Executive Committee to three-year terms.  Nominations are open to participating Core and Affiliate centers every year prior to the October Steering Committee meeting. The current roster of Technical Committees is here

Biomarkers Committee
The Biomarkers Committee is made up of Core and Affiliate Center transplant physicians and may: inform the Network’s scientific agenda with a focus on questions involving analysis of biologic specimens for genomic and proteomic markers; review new and existing studies for opportunities to collect blood and tissue samples for analysis of potential prognostic markers; and, advise the Network protocol teams in their review of ancillary study proposals that request the use of BMT CTN-related research samples.

Clinical Research Associates (CRA) Committee
The Clinical Research Associate Committee consists of Clinical Research Associates and Data Managers from Core and Affiliate Centers.  This committee: reviews each BMT CTN protocol before it is distributed to centers, focusing on reviewing and resolving logistical issues (e.g., shipping and receipt of specimens or drugs); assists in developing and reviewing Case Report Forms; reviews educational materials for use at participating clinical centers; and, provides input for the BMT CTN Coordinators’ meeting held during the BMT Tandem Meetings.

Pharmacy Committee
The Pharmacy Committee consists of transplant physicians and pharmacists from Core and Affiliate Centers and reviews each protocol prior to implementation.  The Committee reviews BMT CTN protocols for appropriate use and administration of pharmaceuticals.  It also advises Protocol Teams about possible pharmacokinetic or other ancillary studies.  

Special Populations Committee
The Special Populations Committee consists of pediatric and adult transplant physicians from Core and Affiliate Centers as well as an ethicist.  It ensures that children, women, and minority study participants are considered for inclusion in all appropriate investigational protocols developed by the Network.  It also ensures that, for studies involving pediatric participants, appropriate modifications are addressed in informed consent, patient care, and monitoring documents.  The Special Populations Committee reviews each protocol before it is distributed to centers for implementation.

Toxicity and Supportive Care Committee
The Toxicity and Supportive Care Committee consists of Core and Affiliate Center transplant physicians.  This Committee works with the DCC to define methods for evaluating adverse events and toxicities after transplantation; reviews the evaluation and monitoring requirements for toxicities on BMT CTN protocols; and, designs and approves forms and procedures for collecting toxicity data, including standards for expedited reporting of certain adverse events.  The Toxicity and Supportive Care Committee reviews each protocol before initial release to participating centers.