Core Clinical Centers

The National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) and the National Cancer Institute (NCI) are pleased to welcome the following 20 Institutions/Consortia that will be the Core Clinical Centers/Consortia of the Blood and Marrow Transplant Clinical Trials Network (BMT CTN) for the new project period (July 2017 through June 2024).

Participating Clinical Centers are responsible for recruiting, examining, and treating study participants.  They are also responsible for collecting all clinical, laboratory, demographic, and other data required by the study.  Each Core Clinical Center is led by a Principal Investigator who is personally responsible for ensuring that all aspects of BMT CTN protocols are followed.  Other key center staff includes physicians, study coordinators, and laboratory technicians.

Clinical Center staff carries out the provisions of the Manual of Procedures and BMT CTN protocols.  They are responsible for registering and maintaining follow-up of all participants. 

Some Core Clinical Centers are consortia of two or more centers.  The Core Clinical Centers are:

The BMT CTN is committed to including widespread transplant community participation in these trials.  However, due to the limited resources, not all requests can be accommodated for each protocol.  If your center is interested in participating, return the completed Affiliate Center Application to BMT CTN DCC/EMMES at 301-251-1355 or to bmtctn@emmes.com.

 

Helen Heslop, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Steering Committee Vice Chair

Baylor College of Medicine

Center for Cell and Gene Therapy

One Baylor Plaza

Houston, TX 77030

E-Mail: heheslop@texaschildrenshospital.org

 

 

 

Catherine Bollard, M.D., MBChB - Principal Investigator

Children's National Medical Center/Children's Research Institute

111 Michigan Avenue NW, Suite 5200

Washington DC 20010

E-Mail: cbollard@childrensnational.org

 

 

 

Carl Allen, M.D., PhD. - Principal Investigator

Baylor College of Medicine

Center for Cell and Gene Therapy

One Baylor Plaza

Houston TX 77030

E-Mail: ceallen@txch.org

 

 

 

Ryo Nakamura, M.D. - Principal Investigator

City of Hope National Medical Center

1500 East Duarte Road

Duarte, CA  91010-3000

E-Mail: rnakamura@coh.org

 

 

 

Joseph Antin, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Dana Farber Cancer Institute

450 Brookline Avenue

Boston, MA  02115

E-Mail: jantin@partners.org

 

 

 

Yi-Bin Chen, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Massachusetts General Hospital

55 Fruit Street

Boston, MA  02114

E-Mail: ychen6@partners.org

 

 

 

Joanne Kurtzberg, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Duke University Medical Center

Pediatric Blood & Marrow Transplant

2400 Pratt Street

DUMC Box 3850

Durham, NC  27705

E-Mail: kurtz001@mc.duke.edu

 

 

 

Frederick Appelbaum, M.D. – Principal Investigator

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

1100 Fairview Avenue North, D5-310

Seattle, WA  98109

E-Mail: fappelba@fhcrc.org

 

 

 

Claudio Anasetti, M.D. – Principal Investigator

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center

12902 Magnolia Drive, Mail FOB3-BMT

Tampa, FL 33612

E-Mail: claudio.anasetti@moffitt.org

 

 

 

Richard Jones, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Steering Committee Chair Elect

Johns Hopkins University

Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center

401 North Broadway

Baltimore, MD  21287

E-Mail: jonesri@jhmi.edu

 

 

 

Parameswaran Hari, M.D., M.S. - Principal Investigator

Medical College of Wisconsin

9200 West Wisconsin Avenue, Suite C5500

Milwaukee, WI  53226

E-Mail: phari@mcw.edu

 

 

 

Miguel Perales, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

1275 York Avenue, Box 298

New York, NY  10065

E-Mail: peralesm@mskcc.org

 

 

 

John Levine, M.D., M.S.- Principal Investigator

Mount Sinai Medical Center

One Gustave L. Levy Place, Box 1410

New York, NY  10029

E-Mail: john.levine@mssm.edu

 

 

 

William Hogan, M.D., B.Ch. - Principal Investigator

Mayo Clinic

200 First Street SW

Rochester, MN 55905

E-Mail: hogan.william@mayo.edu

 

 

 

Madan Jagasia, M.D., M.B.B.S., M.S. - Principal Investigator

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

1301 Medical Center Drive, Suite 3927 TVC

Nashville, TN  37232

E-Mail: madan.jagasia@vanderbilt.edu

 

 

 

Asad Bashey, M.D., PhD. - Principal Investigator

Northside Hospital

Blood & Marrow Transplant Program

5670 Peachtree Dunwoody Road NE, Suite 1030

Atlanta, GA 30342-4790

E-Mail: abashey@bmtga.com

 

 

 

Krishna Komanduri, M.D., PhD. - Principal Investigator

University of Miami

1475 NW 12 Avenue, Suite 3300

Miami, FL 33136

E-Mail: kkomanduri@med.miami.edu

 

 

 

Edward Copelan, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Levine Cancer Institute

1021 Morehead Medical Drive, Suite 5300

Charlotte, NC 28204

E-Mail: edward.copelan@carolinashealthcare.org

 

 

 

Steven Devine, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Steering Committee Chair

The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center

Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital

320 West 10th Avenue, B316 Starling Loving Hall

Columbus, OH 43210

E-Mail: steven.devine@osumc.edu

 

 

 

Philip McCarthy, M.D. - Co-Principal Investigator

Theresa Hahn, PhD. - Co-Principal Investigator

Roswell Park Cancer Institute

Blood and Marrow Transplant

Elm and Carlton Streets

Buffalo, NY 14263

E-Mail: philip.mccarthy@roswellpark.org

E-Mail: theresa.hahn@roswellpark.org

 

 

 

Lloyd Damon, M.D. - Principal Investigator

University of California, San Francisco Medical Center

Adult Hematology/Oncology/BMT

400 Parnassus Avenue, 4th Floor Clinic

San Francisco, CA 94143

E-Mail: damonl@medicine.ucsf.edu

 

 

 

Thomas Shea, M.D. - Principal Investigator

University of North Carolina Hospitals

Hematology/Oncology

CB 7305 Manning Drive, 3rd Floor Physicians Office Building

Chapel Hill, NC 27599

E-Mail: shea@med.unc.edu

 

 

 

John McCarty, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Virginia Commonwealth University

Massey Cancer Center BMT Program

1300 E. Marshall Steet, PO Box 980157

Richmond, VA 23298

E-Mail: jmccarty@mcvh-vcu.edu

 

 

 

Richard Maziarz, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Oregon Health & Science University

3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road, Mail Code UHN 73C

Portland, OR 97239

E-Mail: maziarzr@ohsu.edu

 

 

 

Marcos de Lima, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Case Western Reserve Universtiy

11100 Euclid Avenue, LKS5079

Cleveland, OH 44106

E-Mail: marcos.delima@uhhospital.org

 

 

 

Navneet Majhail, M.D., M.S. - Principal Investigator

Cleveland Clinic Foundation

9500 Euclid Avenue, Desk CA-61

Cleveland, OH 44915

E-Mail: majhain@ccf.org

 

 

 

Patrick Stiff, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Loyola University Medical Center

2160 South First Avenue

Maywood, IL 60153

E-Mail: pstiff@lumc.edu

 

 

 

Mike Pulsipher, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Pediatric Blood & Marrow Transplant Consortium

Children's Hospital Los Angeles, University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine

4650 Sunset Boulevard, Mailstop #62

Los Angeles, CA 90027

E-Mail: mpulsipher@chla.usc.edu

 

 

 

Robert Lowsky, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Stanford Hospital and Clinics

Blood and Marrow Transplant Clinic

300 Pasteur Drive, Room H-0101, MC 5623

Stanford, CA  94305

E-Mail: rlowsky@stanford.edu

 

 

 

John Wingard, M.D. - Principal Investigator

University of Florida/Shands Healthcare Medical

Hematology/Oncology

1600 SW Archer Road, Box 100278

Gainesville, FL  32610

E-Mail: wingajr@ufl.edu

 

 

 

Edmund Waller, M.D., PhD. - Principal Investigator

Emory University Hospital

1365 Clifton Road, N.E. Room B5119

Atlanta, GA 30322

E-Mail: ewaller@emory.edu

 

 

 

Greg Yanik, M.D. - Principal Investigator

University of Michigan Medical Center

Blood and Marrow Transplant Program

1500 E. Medical Center Drive

Ann Arbor, MI  48109

E-Mail: gyanik@med.umich.edu

 

 

 

Sherif Farag, M.D., PhD. - Principal Investigator

Indiana University Hospital

980 West Walnut Street, Room C414

Indianapolis, IN  46202

E-Mail: ssfarag@iu.edu

 

 

 

Joseph Uberti, M.D., PhD. - Principal Investigator

Karmanos Cancer Institute

Bone Marrow Transplant

4100 John R. 4th Floor HWCRC

Detroit, MI  48201

E-Mail: ubertij@karmanos.org

 

 

 

Claudio Brunstein, M.D., PhD. - Principal Investigator

University of Minnesota Medical Center

Blood and Marrow Transplant Program

420 Delaware Street S.E., Mailstop 480

Minneapolis, MN  55455

E-Mail: bruns072@umn.edu

 

 

 

Edward Stadtmauer, M.D. - Principal Investigator

University of Pennsylvania Medical Center

Abramson Cancer Center

3400 Civic Center Boulevard

2nd Floor West Pavilion

Philadelphia, PA  19104

E-Mail: stadtmau@mail.med.upenn.edu

 

 

 

Peter Westervelt, M.D. - Principal Investigator

Washington University School of Medicine

Division of Oncology

660 South Euclid Avenue Campus Box 8007

St. Louis, MO 63110

E-Mail: pwesterv@dom.wustl.edu